Top gun “Tex” scores 10/10 but Mills still Leads

Tex Walker at North Broken Hill FC Rooms

Taylor “Tex” Walker continued his renaissance with another commanding performance in the Adelaide Crows 31-point victory over the West Coast Eagles at Adelaide Oval in Round 12.

In his eighth game for the season “Tex” kicked 3 masterful goals as well as picking up 22 disposals made up of 13 kicks and 9 handballs as well as eight marks.

Walker has now played 228 games for the Crows and kicked 228 goals, a remarkable co-incidence, since being drafted with pick #75 in the 2007 national draft from North Broken Hill FC.

He is the club’s leading goalkicker of all time as well as having kicked the most goals in finals (23). He was the Crows captain from 2015 until 2019 and the player who led the team into the 2017 grand final.

Swans co-captain Callum Mills retains the lead in the Carey Bunton medal with 48 votes from Gold Coast Suns ruckman Witts with 31.

Meanwhile, Geelong key forward Tom Hawkins has a clear lead in the leading goalkicking award with 33 goals this season well ahead of Taylor Walker (Adelaide) and Isaac Heeney (Sydney Swans) both on 21.


Votes Round 12
48 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans (R12 – 4 votes v MEL)
31 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast

19 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide (R12 – 10 votes v WCE)
17 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans

17 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
13 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton
11 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
  8 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants
  6 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
  6 James Peatling  (Pennant Hills)  – GWS Giants
  5 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide)
  5 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) –  GWS Giants     
  3 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
  2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers) – Melbourne
  1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans

  1 Matt Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants

MOHR MEDAL (NSW player goalkicking placing in the AFL)

Goals Round 12
31 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R12 – 2 goals v WB)

21 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – (R12 – 3 goals v WCE)
21 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R12 – 1 goal v MEL)
20 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide

20  Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R12 – 1 goal v COLL)
18 Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants       

Leave a Reply