Todd Marshall on the Rise

Todd Marshall

Port Adelaide forward Todd Marshall is having a break-through season for the Power.

Todd scored seven votes in the Carey Bunton medal in Port’s 23-point win over the Sydney Swans at the Adelaide Oval in round 14 to go into third place behind Swans mid-fielder Callum Mills (48) and Gold Coast Suns ruckman Jarrad Witts (27).

He also booted four goals in Port’s victory to move into 2nd place behind neighbouring Finley product Tom Hawkins (Geelong) for the Bill Mohr goalkicking award. Following three goals against West Coast, Hawkins leads the race with 36 goals; Marshall has kicked 27 goals so far this season.

Todd’s smooth, seemingly effortless goalkicking skills were honed on the Harding Street Oval in his hometown, Deniliquin in south-west NSW, where he grew up playing junior footy for the Rams in the Murray Football League.

Local footy legend Sean Drennan (ex Swans), who was a key forward in five premierships for the Rams including four in a row, 2001-2004, told us that Todd was from “a really good footballing family”. His late father, Robert “Cocko” Marshall and uncle Stuart “Ernie” Marshall were handy players and wonderful clubmen for Deni over many years. Cousin, Lee Marshall had a run with the Sydney Swans in 1996-97, then returned home to play in five flag winning teams.

Todd was drafted from the Murray Bushrangers where he played under former Sydney Swans winger Leon Higgins, who was recruited under zoning from nearby Tocumwal.


Votes Round 14
48 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans

31 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
27 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide (R14 – 7 votes v SYD)
22 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R14 – 5 votes v PA)
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide)
17 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
13 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton
11 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
11 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
9 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – GWS Giants
6 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
6 James Peatling (Pennant Hills) – GWS Giants
5 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide)
5 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants
3 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers) – Melbourne
1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
1 Matt Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants


MOHR MEDAL (for the NSW player who has kicked the most goals this season in the AFL)

Goals Round 14
36 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R14 – 3 goals)

27 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide (R14 – 4 goals)
24 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R14 – 3 goals)
23 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide (R14 – 1 goal)
23 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R14 – 2 goals)
20 Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants

Leave a Reply