The Newcastle Flyer Soars Into Contention

Sydney Swans’ mid-fielder Isaac Heeney has made a giant leap into contention for this year’s Carey Bunton Medal for the best player from NSW in the AFL based on the votes for the AFL Coaches Association Award.

The former Cardiff player scored ten votes for his brilliant performance in the Swans’ demolition of the Fremantle Dockers at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast last Sunday.

Heeney is now on thirty-seven votes, but is now within reach of leader Jacob Hopper (GWS Giants), who has accumulated 48 votes so far this season, and Adelaide key forward Taylor Walker is now only one vote in front of Heeney.

48 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) – GWS Giants
38 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide
37 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R19 10 votes v FRE)
37 Callum Mills (Mosman) – Sydney Swans
33 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R19 4 votes v RIC)
11 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans (R19 2 votes v FRE)
10 Sam Wicks (Manly-Warringah) – Sydney Swans
10 Zach Williams (Narrandera) – Carlton
8 Lachie Schultz ((Moama) – Fremantle
8 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn
7 Matthew Kennedy (Collingullie)
6 Jacob Koschitzke (Albury) – Hawthorn
6 Dane Rampe (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) Sydney Swans
6 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – GWS Giants
6 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants
5 Braeden Campbell (Pennant Hills) – Sydney Swans
5 Taylor Duryea (Corowa) – Western Bulldogs
4 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) – Sydney Swans
4 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants
3 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
2 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah-Cookardinia United) – GWS Giants
2 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
2 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide

Leave a Reply