The Carey-Bunton Medal – Its On Again – Round 1 Results

Two NSW players are on top of the leader board after the first round of matches for the 2021 AFL premiership season.

Adelaide key forward Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) who booted 5 goals in the Crows win over Geelong and newly-minted Sydney Swans mid-fielder Callum Mills who starred in the win over the Brisbane Lions at the Gabba each polled the maximum votes from the coaches.

Swans’ debutant Errol Gulden, who last season played in UNSW-Eastern Suburbs grand final team that were beaten by Sydney University, made a stunning entry into the AFL and was awarded seven votes. He was also named the NAB’s AFL Rising Star for the round.

Meanwhile, GWS Giants mid-fielder Jacob Hopper received five votes in the AFL Coaches Award for his gallant display in the Giant’s narrow loss to St Kilda at Giants Stadium.

Other NSW players to score votes in round 1 were Isaac Heeney (Swans-Cardiff), new Giants ruckman Matthew Flynn (Narrandera), and team-mate Harry Perryman (Collingullie) all with 3 votes each, and Swans defender Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) who scored 1 vote.


Votes after Round 1:

10 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide
10 Callum Mills (North Shore) – Sydney Swans
7 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
5 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) – GWS Giants
3 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants
3 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants
1 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) – Sydney Swans

Leave a Reply