How Times Change

1959 Miranda Under 12's A smallerMiranda is one of the oldest and continuous junior clubs in NSW.

It is located in the Sutherland Shire along with a two or three more junior clubs.

The club is known as the Miranda Bombers and many long years having spawned many senior footballers into the Sydney competition as well as forming a foundation for many young people who would later become leaders in their field.

We were provided with the attached photograph taken in 1959 at the Boystown field at Engadine.  It is the Miranda Under 12 team who were to go on to win the premiership that season.

Coloured photographs of that period are quite rare and we are very lucky to have it in our collection.  The names of the members of the team are enumerated under the image and you will see the likes of Vince and Pat McCourt, Peter Kilmister and Chris Huon, who later took up umpiring having a very successful career in Sydney in the late 1960s-70s.

If you have any old photos, send them into us for general presentation.


Officials have finally identified a date for a reunion of former members of the NSW Police Australian Football Team.

The side was formed in 1958 under the direction of a high ranked officer.  By that stage there were more than enough police playing in the Sydney weekend competition to make up a team which went on to compete in the mid week services league.

Names like Neil Stevens (pictured at lower right), Brian Andrews and Ellis Noack were just a few who were to fill the ranks of the team.

Participant’s names would be published in a weekly police circular which provided the officers in charge of the respective stations and roster staff the information and authority to allocate police to the game.  A number of police cadets also competed, mainly because their involvement was counted as part of their duty and they got the afternoon off work!!!!

The side’s home ground was Moore Park, adjacent to South Dowling Street.  This was the same venue used by very early teams in the Sydney weekend competition.  The fact that the ground was across the road from the Bat and Ball Hotel had no bearing on officials’ choice to use the oval.

The date for the reunion is Saturday, 19 May 2012 commencing at 12 midday.  The venue is still to be decided with Society officials currently investigating various watering holes locations with appropriate facilities.

The team was well known for playing some non-police when they were short and these people too are invited to attend.

Persons interested can contact the Society here to be place on the list for more information when it becomes available.

The above photograph of the team was taken in 1965 at Moore Park.  Click to enlarge.   It includes some we can identify as: Neil Stevens (Easts), Bob Barnetson (Balmain), Nick Stoves (Easts), Tom Ely (Newtown/Sthn Dists), Brian Peters (cadet), Vince McCourt (St George- cadet), Noddy Durbin (Souths), Fred Griffin (STP), Barry Mackie (Souths), Tex Allen (Newtown), Greg Hickey (Balmain), Barry Fielding (Parramatta), Stan Anderson (Wests), Ellis Noack (Sthn Dists), Graham Kemp (St George), Peter Burgess (Wests).