The Kid From Moama Scores 10 Votes

  Lachie Schultz

The “Moama Kid”, Fremantle’s dynamic forward Lachie Schultz scored the maximum number of votes for his outstanding game in the 55-point win over the West Coast Eagles in round 3.

His 23-disposals, eight marks, three goal-assists, nine score involvements and two goals were instrumental in the victory.

He also won the Glendinning-Allan medal for best afield in the Western Derby.

Schultz’s performance has catapulted him into second place behind early leader Isaac Heeney (Sydney Swans) in the Carey Bunton medal for the best NSW player in the AFL.

Near neighbour Todd Marshall from 70 kilometres up the Cobb Highway in Deniliquin also had a break-out game, booting five goals in Port Adelaide’s after-the-siren loss to Adelaide in the Showdown.

Mangoplah-CUE’s Elliot Himmelberg also had a stand-out performance for his side Adelaide booting four goals and scoring six votes in the win over Port Adelaide at the Adelaide Oval.

Swans star forward Isaac Heeney still leads way in the Mohr Medal for the leading NSW goalkicker by one goal from Tom Hawkins and Harry Himmelberg.


Votes Round 3
15 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans

10 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle (R3 10 votes v WCE)
8 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong

8 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton
8 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans
8 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide (R3 8 votes v ADL)
6 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide (R2 6 votes v PA)
1 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast

1 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans


Goals Round 3
9 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R3 1 goal v WB)  

8 Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants (R3 3 goals v GCS)
8 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R3 3 goals v COLL)
6 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide (R3 5 goals v ADL)                                       
5 Lachie Schultz (Moama) –  Fremantle (R3 2 goals v WCE)                                                                  
5 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R3 2 goals v CAR)                                                                            
4 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide (R3 4 goals v PA)
4 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
(R3 1 goal v WB)