NSW v Subiaco

Ralph Turner 3Over the years a number of Western Australian Clubs have visited Sydney and subsequently played against either Combined Sydney or NSW representative teams.

As far back as 1911 Western Australian teams came when Kalgoolie Railways club won over a Sydney team in their eastern states tour and this was before the rail line had been connected to Perth.

The Western Australian state team visited Sydney on only one occasion and that was in 1949 when they too dished up the NSW team by over 50 points.  NSW has never ventured any further west than Adelaide for interstate participation.

An interesting match was played in August 1959 when the Subiaco club took advantage of the break in their competition to make the trip.  It was reported that the Western Australian club paid five thousand pounds for the visit which included a party of forty five, including twenty seven players.  The clash was the only representative match for NSW that year.

Nine thousand  packed the versatile Trumper Park to see a strong maroon and gold side take the field against what turned out to be a rather hapless NSW combination.

‘Subi’ were a solid outfit who that year fought their way to the WANFL grand final;  they took no prisoners in their systematic demise of NSW on that day.

The locals lost the advantage of a first quarter wind although they had most of the ball.  Their opponents were just too strong and too talented and led at the first change 5-6 to 2-7.

You might say that NSW bounded out of the gates with a brilliant burst in the second quarter with great football through Byrne (father of former VFL player, Michael Byrne), Keay, Harding and onto West’s Terry Ingersoll, who goaled.  There were limited opportunities for the remainder of the period as Subiaco stretched their half time lead to a margin of 13-12 to 6-10.

Only an extreme optimist would suggest a NSW turnabout and unfortunately, there were none in the crowd.

By three quarter time the visitors led by forty points and as the crowd began to exit the venue Subiaco ran away with a 22-25 (157) to 11-19 (85) victory.

Ralph Turner (pictured), then playing with South Sydney, was easily NSW’s best.  But for him at centre half back, the difference in the score would have been much wider. Turner won the Phelan Medal that year with a record 37 votes, then two years later, playing with Sydney Naval, won it again.





22-25 (157)





11-19 (85)

Subiaco: Peter Amaranti, Terry Williams, Ron Triplett, Don Glass, Charlie Tyson & Reg Hampson
NSW: Ralph Turner, Ray Free, Bruce Christie, Alan Dalton, Kev Batchelor, Lionel Byrne