Son of a Gun

Tex Walker

Adelaide Crows star forward Taylor “Tex” Walker is moving up the ladder board in both the both the voting for the Carey Bunton for the best NSW player in the AFL and the goalkicking race for the Bill Mohr medal.

“Tex” scored ten votes in the Crows’ 57-point win over North Melbourne at Bellerive Oval in Hobart round 15 to charge into second place behind Swans mid-fielder Callum Mills (48).

He also booted six goals in a commanding performance to move into equal 3rd place with Swans wizard Isaac Heeney behind Geelong power forward Tom Hawkins (36 goals) and Port Adelaide forward Marshall who has now kicked 31 goals this season.

“Tex” crafted his footy skills playing on Jubilee Oval for Norths in the Broken Hill Football League. He was drafted by the Adelaide Crows with pick 75 in 2007. He had previously been awarded a NSW scholarship by the Crows.

Aged seventeen, he was best afield in Norths’ 2007 premiership win and booted seven goals playing at centre half-forward.

He is the son of Broken Hill football legend Wayne “Wacky” Walker, who won four competition medals in the Broken Hill league along with eight premiership flags.

“Wacky” took enormous pride in playing for NSW in representative fixtures. He drove from Broken Hill to Albury to play against the Victorian Football Association in 1987 because there were only two flights per week to Sydney.

He was a pivotal player in the mid-field in NSW’s historic first-ever victory over the VFA, which NSW had first played against at the SCG in 1881. The VFA won the second division title at the last-ever national championships in Adelaide in 1988; NSW was in division one and celebrated the State’s first win over Western Australia.


Votes Round 15
48 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans

37 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide) (R15 – 10 votes v NM)
33 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast (R15 – 2 votes v PA)
33 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide (R15 – 6 votes v GCS)
22 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans

17 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
15 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton 27 (R15 – 2 votes v CAR)
11 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong

11 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
9 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – GWS Giants
8 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – (R15 – 8 votes v STK)
6 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans

6 James Peatling  (Pennant Hills)  – GWS Giants
5 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide
5 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) –  GWS Giants
3 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers) – Melbourne
1 Matt Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants

MOHR MEDAL (NSW players in the leading goalkickers list in the AFL)

Goals Round 15
36 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong

31 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide (R 15 – 4 goals)
28 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R 15 – 3 goals)
28 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide (R 15 – 6 goals)
25  Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R 15 – 3 goals)
19 Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants

19 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle (R 15 – 1 goal)  

Leave a Reply