Mills Scores Another 10 to Extend Carey Bunton Medal Lead

Sydney Swan’s, Callum Mills

Sydney Swans co-captain Callum Mills has taken his play to another level this season such that the commentariat now rates him amongst the best mid-fielders in the game.

Mills scored another ten votes in the AFL Coaches Champion Player award for round 6 come from behind win over Hawthorn in the Anzac Day match at UTas Stadium in Launceston.

His 37-disposals consisting of 23 kicks and 14 handballs as well as and eleven marks, five tackles and a goal in the Swans 41-point win.

This takes him into the outright lead in the Carey Bunton medal for the best player from NSW in season 2022 with 31 votes followed by team-mate Isaac Heeney (17 votes) and Adelaide forward Taylor “Tex” Walker.

He is now in 3rd place overall in level pegging with Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver behind outright leader Andrew Brayshaw (Fremantle) on 37 votes and Carlton skipper Patrick Cripps with 35.

Meanwhile, Geelong key forward Tom Hawkins retains the lead for the Mohr medal as well as the Coleman medal for the leading goalkicker in the AFL following his 4 goals in the victory over North Melbourne at Bellerive Oval in Hobart.

“Tomahawk” now has a four-goal break over Swans mid-fielder-forward Isaac Heeney in the Mohr medal and leads team-mate Jeremy Cameron by just one goal for the Coleman medal.

Votes Round 6
31 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans (R6 – 10 votes v HAW)
17 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide (R6 – 3 votes v WB)
16 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle (R6 – 6 votes v CAR)
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
11 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide (R6 – 3 votes v CAR)
10 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
10 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
8 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton
3 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide) (R6 – 3 votes v WCE)
2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers)-
2 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans (R6 – 1 vote v HAW)
1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
1 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants

Goals Round 6
20 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R6 –  4 goals v NM)
15 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R6 – 1 goal v HAW)
12 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah … CUE) – GWS Giants (R6 – 1 goal v STK)
12 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – (R6 – 3 goals v WB)
12 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R6 – 2 goals v SYD)
11 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide (R6 – 5 goals v WCE)
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah … CUE) – Adelaide

Leave a Reply