Mills Scores Another 10 in Carey Bunton Medal

Callum Mills in his North Shore jumper
at Gore Hill Oval in 2015

Sydney Swans co-captain/mid-fielder Callum Mills has stretched his lead in this year’s Carey Bunton medal based on the votes of the AFL coaches after scoring the perfect 10 in the round nine win over Essendon at the SCG last Saturday night.

The former Mosman FC junior, Mills had 29 disposals consisting of 21 kicks and 8 handballs, 7 marks, and 13 tackles.

He has now established a seventeen-vote lead over his nearest rival, Gold Coast ruckman Jarrod Witts, who has been instrumental in the Suns’ past two upsets wins over Fremantle and the Swans. Witts is ranked number 1 for hit-outs in the AFL season.

Meanwhile, former Collingullie (Riverina) product Matt Kennedy had an outstanding game against his old club, the GWS Giants, as part of his transformation into being an A-grade player with the Blues. His 27 disposals (13 kicks/14 handballs), 8 marks and a goal did much to set up Carlton’s 30-point win over the Giants.

Geelong power forward Tom Hawkins still leads the Mohr medal for the leading NSW goalkicker in the AFL this season, to date he has booted 27 goals. He trails Richmond forward Tom Lynch by just four goals for the Coleman medal. He won both medals last season.


Votes Round 9
41 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans (R9 – 10 votes v ESS)

24 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast (R9 – 4 votes v FRE)
19 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide
17 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide
16 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
13 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton (R9 – 3 votes v GWS)
11 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong (R9 – 1 vote v STK)
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
8 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants
6 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans (R9 – 4 votes v ESS)
5 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide)
2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers) – Melbourne
1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans

MOHR MEDAL (NSW player leading goalkicker to round 9 in the AFL)

Goals Round 9
27 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R9 – 4 goals v STK)
19 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans (R9 – 1 goal v ESS)
17 Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants (R9 – 2 goals v CAR)
17 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide (R9 – 3 goals v WB)
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – (R9 – 1 goal v BRIS)
17 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R9 – 3 goals v RIC)
12 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
11 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide

Leave a Reply