J.P. Steps Up For The Giants

James Peatling, or “JP” as he is known to his team-mates, had a break-out game for the GWS Giants in their 52-point thrashing of the West Coast Eagles in their round 10 clash at Giants Stadium in Sydney last Sunday.

Peatling came back into the Giants team under care-taker coach Mark McVeigh and repaid the coach’s faith in him with a commanding performance in the forward line and on the ball.

“JP” had 23 disposals consisting of 16 kicks and 7 handballs, 11 marks, and kicked 3 goals.

He was pick 8 in last season’s mid-season draft after previously playing for the Giants NEAFL team.

Originally a Westbrook junior (Sydney north-west), Peatling went to Pennant Hills in 2015 at age 15 to play in the Under 19s, then making his senior debut in 2017 and playing in the grand final win over Sydney University.

Peatling was picked up by Sydney Uni for its NEAFL side in 2020 on the recommendation of the club’s then Football Director Wayne Campbell, who had been highly impressed by him when he conducted the GWS football program. He returned to Pennant Hills last season.

Callum Mills retains the lead in the Carey Bunton medal with 41 votes from Gold Coast co-captain Jarrod Witts, who also failed to poll votes this round, on 24.


Votes Round 10
41 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans
24 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
19 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide
17 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide
16 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
13 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton
11 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong (R9 1 vote v STK)
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
8 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants
6 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
6 James Peatling (Pennant Hills) – GWS Giants (R10 6 votes v WCE)
5 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide)
5 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants (R10 5 votes v WCE)
2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers) – Melbourne (R10 1 vote v NM)
1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
1 Matt Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants (R10 1 vote v WCE)

MOHR MEDAL (NSW player Leading Goalkicker in the AFL)

29 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R10 – 2 goals v PA)
19 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide (R10 – 2 goals v GEE)
19 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans 18
Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants (R10 – 1 goal v WCE)
18 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – (R10 – 1 goal v STK)
18 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn (R10 – 1 goal v BRI)

Leave a Reply