Hopper and Tex Vie For The Lead

GWS Giants mid-fielder Jacob Hopper has retained his lead in the Carey Bunton Medal by scoring three votes in the Giants’ upset win over West Coast in round 10 at Giants Stadium.

Hopper is now on 33 votes but Adelaide star forward Taylor Walker has come back into calculations with two votes for his great game in the win over unbeaten Melbourne at the Adelaide Oval. “Tex” moves to 30 votes, just three behind Jacob Hopper.

Meanwhile, Carlton’s Zach Williams and Giants key forward Harry Himmelberg scored their first votes for the season in this round.

The Carey Bunton Medal for the best player from NSW in the AFL this season is based on the votes by the coaches for the AFL Coaches Award.

33 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) – GWS Giants (R10 3 votes v WCE)
30 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide (R10 2 votes v MEL)
24 Callum Mills (Mosman) – Sydney Swans
13 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
10 Sam Wicks (Manly-Warringah) – Sydney Swans
9 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
8 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle
5 Braeden Campbell (Pennant Hills) – Sydney Swans
6 Jacob Koschitzke (Albury) – Hawthorn
5 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants
3 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants
3 Zach Williams (Narrandera) – Carlton (R10 3 votes v HAW)
2 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah-Cookardinia United) – (R10 2 votes v WCE)
2 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
2 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide
2 Dane Rampe – (ES-UNSW) – Sydney Swans
1 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) – Sydney Swans
1 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong

Leave a Reply