Harry Himmelberg is Back In Form

     Harry Himmelberg with thanks to the Daily Telegraph

“Where did you play Harry Himmelberg when you coached him at Mangoplah?”

This question was put to his first senior coach Nathon Irvine, a former Sydney Swans player, SANFL star, Wagga Tigers captain-coach in the ACT AFL before returning to the fold to coach Mangoplah Cookardinia United Eastlakes in the Riverina Football League, 2012-2014 & 2016.

“Funny you should ask. I played him off the half-back line. He was such a prodigious kick.”

“That goal he kicked from outside 50 on Sunday showed what a weapon that can be,” said Irvine.

Harry Himmelberg showed his return to a defensive position was complete with a dominant performance in the Giants’ 31-point victory over North Melbourne at Marvel Stadium in the first part of Round 13.

Himmelberg scored nine votes in his first votes for the season, and now is just one vote behind his younger brother, Elliott, from the Adelaide Crows.

He accumulated 37 disposals made up of 25 kicks and 12 handball and took 16 marks.

Meanwhile, Geelong power forward Tom Hawkins maintains the lead in the leading goalkicking award, the Mohr medal, with 33 goals this season ahead of Todd Marshall (Port Adelaide), who kicked three majors in Port’s loss to Richmond at the MCG last Thursday night.


Votes Round 13 Part 1
48 Callum Mills (Mosman Swans) – Sydney Swans
31 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
20 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin Rams) – Port Adelaide (R13 – 1 votes v RIC)
17 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide
17 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
17 Lachie Schultz (Moama) – Fremantle 
15 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
13 Matt Kennedy (Collingullie) – Carlton
11 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
11 Isaac Cumming (Norths – Broken Hill) – GWS Giants (R13 – 3 votes v NM)
10 Elliott Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – Adelaide
  9 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah CUE) – GWS Giants (R13 – 9 votes v NM)
  6 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
  6 James Peatling (Pennant Hills) – GWS Giants
  5 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – Port Adelaide
  5 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants
  3 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
  2 Charlie Spargo (Albury Tigers) – Melbourne
  1 Nick Blakey (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
  1 Matt Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants


Goals kicked by NSW players in the AFL –  Round 13 – Part 1
31 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
23 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide (R 13 – 3 goals)
21 Taylor Walker (Norths – Broken Hill) – Adelaide
21 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
20 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn
20 Harry Himmelberg (MCUE) – GWS Giants (R 13 – 1 goal)

Leave a Reply