Giants’ Hopper Closing in on Tex

GWS mid-fielder Jacob Hopper scored six votes in the Carey Bunton Medal for his outstanding performance in the Giants convincing win over the Adelaide Crows in round seven at the Adelaide Oval.

Hopper is now on 23 votes for the season and is closing in on Adelaide forward Taylor Walker, who started the season in sensational style, but has not scored votes since round 3.

Walker still leads the award with 28 votes.

The Carey Bunton Medal for the best player from NSW in the AFL this season is based on the votes by the coaches for the AFL Coaches Award.

28 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide
23 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) – GWS Giants (R7 6 votes v ADL)
13 Callum Mills (Mosman) – Sydney Swans
10 Sam Wicks (Manly-Warringah) – Sydney Swans
9 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) – Sydney Swans
8 Lachie Schultz ((Moama) – Fremantle
5 Braeden Campbell (Pennant Hills) – Sydney Swans
6 Jacob Koschitzke (Albury) – Hawthorn
4 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) – Sydney Swans
3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) – GWS Giants
3 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) – GWS Giants
2 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
2 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
1 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) – Sydney Swans
1 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
1 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide

Leave a Reply