Announcement of Carey-Bunton Medal Results and NSW 2020 Origin Team

Richard Colless NSWAFL and later AFL NSWACT Chairman 1997-2000

The New South Wales Australian Football History Society is pleased to advise the results of its new awards and team of the year for NSW players in the AFL in season 2020.

Society patron Richard Colless, who instigated the introduction of the awards at the start of this season said, “I am delighted to announce the winners of the various awards and the NSW State-of-Origin team for 2020”.

“While it has been a shortened season, it nonetheless has been a highly competitive one. We had twenty-one different players poll votes in the Carey-Bunton Medal, which shows the growing depth and quality of NSW players in the AFL.”

“The winner of the Carey-Bunton Medal, Tom Hawkins had an outstanding season marked by topping the goal-kicking with 42 goals, and thus winning the Coleman Medal for the first time. For these two honours, Tom was selected as the recipient of the Achievement Award”.

“Lachie Schultz, originally from Moama, just across the border from Echuca, has shown remarkable persistence to achieve his dream of a career in the AFL and his performances this season for Fremantle earnt him the Emerging Talent Award”.

“The Origin team was selected from the 49 players currently in the AFL from NSW-based clubs, ranging from Broken Hill in the west, to Newcastle in the north, Tathra on the far south coast, Sydney, and of course, the Riverina and southern border districts”.

“As the convenor of the selection panel, I want to thank the selectors, Gerard Healy, Mike Sheahan, Mark Maclure, and Wayne Carey, as well as Dr Rodney Gillett for his research and administrative support”.

“We were very pleased to have the support from the AFL Coaches Association for the voting system for the Carey-Bunton Medal, it provided tremendous credibility for the award. Thank you to Mark Brayshaw and his team at the AFLCA”.

“And finally, thanks to the media, particularly the Daily Telegraph in Sydney, but also all the regional newspapers for their enthusiasm and support for our awards”.

Tom Hawkins

Tom Hawkins (Finley)
Geelong Football Club
Full voting details below.

Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong Football Club


Lackie Schultz

Lachlan Schultz (Moama)
Fremantle Football Club





Coach: John Longmire Sydney (Corowa Rutherglen Kangaroos)
Assistant Coaches:  Brett Kirk Sydney (North Albury Grasshoppers) Mark McVeigh GWS (Pennant Hills Demons), Jarryd McVeigh Sydney (Pennant Hills Demons), Adam Schneider GWS (Osborne Tigers).
Fullback Back line Harry Cunningham Dougal Howard Harry Perryman
Sydney Swans St Kilda GWS
Turvey Park Bulldogs Wagga Tigers Collingullie Glenfield Park Demons
Half Back Line Callum Mills Dane Rampe (v-capt) Zac Williams
Sydney Swans Sydney Swans GWS
North Shore Bombers ES-UNSW Bulldogs Narrandera Imperials
Centre Line Isaac Smith Jacob Hopper Will Setterfield
Hawthorn GWS Carltonb
East Wagga Kooringal Hawks Leeton-Whitton Crows Albury Tigers
Half Forward Line Luke Breust Tom Hawkins (capt) Lachie Schultz
  Hawthorn Geelong Fremantle
  Temora Kangaroos Finley Cats Moama Magpies
Full Forward Line Michael Gibbons Harry Himmelberg Taylor Walker
  Carlton GWS Adelaide
  Lavington Panthers Mangoplah-Cookardinia United Eastlakes Goannas North Broken Hill Bulldogs
Ruck Jarrod Witts Isaac Heeney Andrew Kennedy
  Gold Coast Sydney Swans Carlton
  Sydney University Students Cardiff Hawks Collingullie Glenfield Park Demons
Interchange Jeremy Finlayson Aaron VandenBerg
  GWS Melbourne
  Culcairn Lions Tathra Sea Eagles
  Nick Blakey Todd Marshall
  Sydney Swans Port Adelaide
  ES-UNSW Deniliquin Rams


1 Tom Hawkins (GEEL) 35 
2 Jarrod Witts (GCC) 31
3 Dane Rampe (SYD) 20
3 Harry Perryman (GWS) 20
5 Isaac Heeney (SYD) 19
6 Jacob Hopper (GWS) 12
7 Callum Mills (SYD) 11
8 Isaac Smith (HAW) 9
9 Derek Eggmolesse-Smith (RICH) 8
9 Dougal Howard (ST K) 8
11 Zac Williams (GWS) 5
12 Nick Blakey (SYD) 4
12 Jacob Townsend (ESS) 4
12 Matthew Kennedy (CARL) 4
15 Luke Breust (HAW) 3
15 Jeremy Finlayson (GWS) 3
17 Michael Gibbons (CARL) 3
18 Todd Marshall (PA) (2)
18 Harry Himmelberg (GWS) 2
18 Charlie Spargo (MEL) 2
18 Elliott Himmelberg (ADEL) 2


Leave a Reply